National Awards and Competitions for Science Teachers

Prime Ministers’ Awards For Teaching Excellence 
Industry Canada provides information on the guidelines and the nomination process for the Prime Ministers’ Awards For Teaching Excellence. Biographies of past winners, recipient homepages, and teaching resources is also listed.

Michael Smith Award
The Michael Smith Award honours individuals and groups who make an outstanding contribution to the promotion of science in Canada, through activities encouraging popular interest or developing science abilities. Up to five winners (individuals or groups) may be selected for the award each year.

ExploraVision – NSTA/Toshiba 
Enter the largest science competition for K-12 students in North America. On this site is information on how to enter, tips for teachers, a listing of past winners along with their winning projects.

NSTA Teaching Awards

Ciba Specialty Chemicals Exemplary Middle Level and High School Science Teaching Award
Full-time middle level and high school science teachers. This program recognizes one middle level and one high school teacher who have demonstrated exemplary science teaching in one or more of the following areas: creativity using science teaching materials; design and use of innovative teaching plans and ideas; and development and implementation of department, school, or school-community programs that improve science instruction and/or stimulate interest in science and the learning of science.

Robert H. Carleton Award
NSTA members who are K – college-level science educators. This award recognizes one NSTA member who has made outstanding contributions to and provided leadership in science education at the national level and to NSTA in particular. It is NSTA’s most prestigious award.

Estes Rocketry/U.S. Space Foundation (USSF) Space Educator Award
Full-time middle school teachers who teach science in a classroom setting.
Must have taught science in a classroom for at least three years. Must teach in a public or private school located in the United States, its territories, Canada, or a DoDD school.

Gustav Ohaus Programs for Innovations in Science Teaching
Science teachers in four grade-level categories: elementary, middle level, high school, and college level.  These awards encourage and honor science teachers who have developed innovative programs in one of the following areas: new curriculum design, instructional methods or techniques, unique organization, administrative patterns, new approach to laboratory activities, or other enhanced learning activity for students.

Distinguished Service to Science Education Award
NSTA members who have shown long-term dedication to science education. These awards honor NSTA members who, through active leadership and scholarly endeavor over a significant period of time, have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of education in the sciences and science teaching. The number of awards given each year is at the discretion of the judges.

Distinguished Informal Science Education Award
NSTA members who are not classroom teachers and who have demonstrated their dedication to informal science education. This award honors one individual who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of science education in an informal or nontraditional school setting, such as a science-technology center, museum, or community science centre.

Distinguished Teaching Award
K–college-level teachers. NSTA members who are teachers who have made
extraordinary contributions to the field of science teaching are honored with this award. The number of awards given each year is at the discretion of the judges.

NABT Teaching Awards

National Association of Biology Teachers – Awards 
This site provides a listing of awards and recognition for teachers who are members of the National Association of Biology Teachers. Included on this page are descriptions of the awards and on line nomination. The list includes: Outstanding Biology Teacher Award, Outstanding New Biology Teacher Achievement Award, NABT Biotechnology Teaching Award, NABT Middle School Teaching Award, Award for Excellence in Encouraging Equity, Honorary Membership, Distinguished Service Award, Two-Year College Biology Teaching Award, Four-Year College Biology Teaching Award.